Form and action search in Dynamics 365 for Operations.

As I said before, I’m getting reacquainted with Dynamics 365 for Operations after a few month’s absence, and I’m starting to like the form search feature. I learnt a lot of menu paths in Dynamics AX 2009 and 2012, and that’s not so much of an achievement because there wasn’t a lot of change between those versions, but things have moved on a bit, and now that I’m starting to lose the little grey cells I’m happy for the computer to start to do a bit of the work for me. So to find a form, use form search. For instance, you want to check on your warehouse setup – use the form search (Short-cut Ctrl-Forward-slash(/)):

Just type a bit of the form name. Don’t hit enter, just be patient. For instance, I’ve type ‘Ware’:

The option I wanted (Inventory management > Setup > Inventory breakdown > Warehouse) is actually the last one on the list, but it’s found it – and so have I.

This search is a little bit idiosyncratic, for instance you’re better off with ‘All customers’ than ‘Customers’ but it’s still a very useful feature.

But wait, there’s more. Let’s open the sales order form (no I’m not going to give you the menu path – go search for ‘All sales orders’), and let’s say that you want to find an intercompany purchase order. Now in the old days (AX 2009 and 2012) you’ve have to click through all the menu options until you noticed the one you wanted – but now, we have action search (Short-cut Ctrl-Apostrophe(‘)):

You can see it’s the lower of the two search buttons. I’ve typed ‘Inter’:

Not only does it give me all of the options, but it’s indicating which ones are active.

That’s pretty neat, and I hope it means that I won’t ever again have to put up with that horrible sinking feeling I get when I’m in a pre-sales demo and can’t find the form or menu option that I want.

2 thoughts on “Form and action search in Dynamics 365 for Operations.

Leave a Reply

