Master planning messages in AX 7

This is the second post of a pair. Previously I looked at Master planning messages in Dynamics AX 2012 – here I’m working in the New Dynamics AX aka Microsoft Dynamics 365 for Operations. Probably worth you taking the time to peruse the earlier post (if you haven’t already) – this post is an abbreviated version, but it follows the same scenario.

I’ve setup a Sales order for a finished goods item, pegged to a production order. My production order component is supplied by a purchase order. My purchase order confirmed delivery date means that I’m going to be late making my production order and delivering to my customer.

In AX 7 Futures messages are renamed ‘Delays’ which make things a bit clearer.

First let’s look at the Net requirements for the component:


Just as in AX 2012 I’ve got an Action advance message on my Purchase order and a Delay on my production order. But actually it’s not all that clear that I do have a delay on my production order – so I’ll personalise my screen and add the ‘Delays’ flag and I’ll do a bit of re-arranging of my net requirements list grid so I can get a bigger screenshot:


My finished goods item is showing a delay on both the sales order and the production order:


You can see all of your Delay messages from the tile on the Master planning workspace:


Gives:


Here you’d setup filters, for instance to see the Delay messages on sales orders:


But a buyer will be interested in the Action Advance messages on the purchase order lines. I couldn’t find the Action messages form in the menu, so I just searched for it, filtered for my items and plan and then noticed purchase order vendor is showing on the form and that purchase order vendor is one of the advanced filter options – that’s pretty neat:


So the summary is that there is a lot of functionality here that we’ve seen in earlier versions of Dynamics AX – but it’s much more accessible and practicable. I’m impressed!

Leave a Reply

