Sales price trade agreement with quantity breaks in AX 2012

In October I created a post about sales price trade agreements (see here).

Miranda left a comment asking for an explanation of a price break scenario like this:

Buy 1 – 5 units, you pay $48.00

Buy 6-10 units, you pay $44.00

Buy 11-24 units, you pay $42.00

Buy 25+ units, you pay $39.00

I’m not sure how to put screen-shots in replies to Comments, so I’ve created this post. I’m working in the standard Dynamics AX 2012 R3 CU9 demo image. I’ve created a new item. Incidentally when I setup a new item I usually set the default site in the Default order settings and the Default warehouse in the Site specific order settings – that saves a bit of time when you’re creating sales orders. Here’s the sales price trade agreement:

(I have to come clean and admit that my first attempt, on the first row I had a From = 0.00 and a To = 5.00. That doesn’t work – so notice that the To quantity on the first row is the same as the From quantity on the next row, and so on for all rows). I’ve also ticked ‘Find next’ but in this case I don’t think that’s doing anything.

I’ve created these sales price trade agreements for a customer price group, because that’s how it’s normally done, but of course you can have sales prices for a specific customer (Table) or all customers (All). I’ve also set a ‘From date’, because I think that’s best practice. When these prices are changed you should set the ‘To date’ on these records, and create new ones with the appropriate ‘From date’.

I need to check that my customer is in this sales price group and then I can create a sales order.

Here’s the sales order – this isn’t trying to be a realistic sales order, it’s a dummy just to test the prices, and I’m testing each ‘boundary condition’:

I’ve also added a line using a different unit of measure. I’ve declared that this item 1 Pair = 2 ea. As expected the sales price trade agreement isn’t found. The sales price trade agreement is defined for a specific sales unit of measure, and for a sales order currency.

Miranda’s comment also mentioned variants, so I’ve setup a product master with a couple of configurations. The Product dimension group setup defines whether the dimension is active for sales price search:

Config is used for sales prices. If the sales price trade agreement row has a configuration, it is used – if it doesn’t, it’s the default for all configurations:

So I’ve got different prices for my two configurations for 1 to 5 units, but the same price for 6 or more units.

Here’s the sales order test of that setup:

One final thing – Sales and marketing > Inquires > Prices can also be used to test your sales price trade agreement setup:

Hope this is useful – thanks for the comments and feedback.

Leave a Reply

