Inventory management parameter ‘Default unit’

In my younger days I was a big fan of Len Deighton’s books and in one he uses the quote: “Perhaps the worst plight of a vessel is to be caught in a gale on a lee shore. In this connection the following rules should be observed. 1. Never allow your vessel to be found in such a predicament.”

I’ve just spent a week working on the setup of a new AX 2012 company and I just wanted to document an optional parameter that you really must populate.

Inventory management > Setup > Inventory and warehouse management parameters:


The Default values > Unit on the General tab is the Inventory unit of measure assigned to new items when you create a new item.

I’ve only ever seen it left blank once, (in an AX4 implementation) and it resulted in a large number of items with a blank Inventory unit of measure. Sorting it out was no fun at all, so please always set this parameter.

